No change is expected in 4 cities! Who will CHP nominate in metropolitan cities?

Local election lobbies are also very active in the CHP, which is preparing for its congress in November. It is on the agenda for the current mayors in Istanbul, Ankara, Adana and Mersin metropolitan municipalities to be candidates again.

According to the news of Cumhuriyet Newspaper, CHP is working feverishly for the local elections in March 2024. While it is wondered who will be the candidate in the new term in the 11 existing CHP metropolitan municipalities, according to the information reflected backstage, the candidate in 4 cities is almost clear.

It is considered certain that Istanbul Metropolitan Municipality Mayor Ekrem İmamoğlu, Ankara Metropolitan Municipality Mayor Mansur Yavaş, Adana Metropolitan Municipality Mayor Zeydan Karalar and Mersin Metropolitan Municipality Mayor Vahap Seçer will be candidates again.

It is also expected that CHP will enter the race with different names than the current mayors in some provinces. Among the names expected to change are Muğla Mayor Osman Gürün and Tekirdağ Metropolitan Municipality Mayor Kadir Albayrak. In Antalya, the names of the current Mayor Muhittin Böcek and Muratpaşa Mayor Ümit Uysal stand out.

On the other hand, although the opposition bloc received more votes than the People’s Alliance in total, it is envisaged that special work will be carried out for provinces such as Denizli, Balıkesir and Bursa, which were won by the People’s Alliance.

Leave a Comment